Skip to main content

Cabarrus College: eBooks

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences Information

eBooks

eBook

The Medical Library has assess to over 2500 electronic books (ebooks) through EBSCO.  These books cover a large variety of medical topics such as Occupational Therapy, Medical Imaging, and Nursing.   You can access these resources through the NC AHEC platform. 

eBook Tutorial

To access the eBook Collection, you must sign into NC AHEC.   Below is a screen shot of the Login Screen of NC AHEC website.  The Red Arrows are pointing to the location of the login portion of the screen. (Figure A, Red Arrows)  You should have received an email from the NC AHEC Digital Library with your login information.  If you need help with your login, you may stop by the Library or send an email to Cindy Kuntzelman or Cassie Dixon for assistance.  After you have logged in, you then click on Books (Figure B, Blue Circle).  You will be taken to the page which list all of the books on NC AHEC.  Click on "E" (Figure C, Red Arrow) and then "eBooks (Ebsco)" (Figure C, Red Box).  You will then be taken to our eBook Collection.

Figure A

Figure B

Figure C

After logging into NC AHEC and choosing Ebsco eBooks, you will be directed to the Advanced Search screen.  From here, you can either enter a subject or book title in the Search Bar ( Purple Arrow) or you can click on eBooks (Red Circle).  To see how to use the eBooks method, please refer to the Collection Tab within this box.  To see how to use the Search Bar, please refer to the Search Bar Tab within this box.

 If you chose to use the Search Bar, you can type in a search term or title of the book you look for.  You may also combine two search terms.  In this example, we will put "pediatric" in top search term and "cardiology" in next search box (Figure A, Red Arrows). You can also refine your search (Figure A, Purple Arrow).  When you are ready, click the Search Box (Figure A, Brown Box). Figure B shows that we found 13 eBooks with these search terms (Figure B, Yellow Circle).  You will get the Title of the book (Figure B, Purple Box) and within the abstract will be the authors, published date, information about the book, and the subjects used to for search terms (Figure B, Green Box).  Below that is the format that the eBook will be in (either PDF Full Text or ePUB Full Text or both) and the Table of Contents (Figure B, Red Box). 

Figure A

Figure B

When you click eBook on the top of the screen, you are brought to eBook Collection.  You can either Browse by Category  (Figure A, Green Box) or you can type in either a search term or title of the book (Figure A, Red Box).  If you chose a Category, it will bring up all books in that category.  If we click on LAW, we get 9 results (Figure B, Red Box).  As you can see, you get the title of the book (Figure B, Green Box), a brief abstract, and table of contents and PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text or both (Figure B, Brown Box).

Figure A

 

Figure B

After reviewing your results, you can read sections of the book.  As you can see in below, the books are either PDF Full Text, EPUB, or Both (Brown Box).   Click on this and the book will "open". 

Figure A

Figure B

Whether the book is in PDF or EPUB format, the layout is the same.  On the left of the screen is the title, author, details about the book, and the Table of Contents (Red Arrow).  At the top of the page is your options (Green Box).  From here, you can save pages, E-mail pages, print pages and have access to a Dictionary.  At the bottom of the screen, you can arrow forward or backwards (ie, turn pages), zoom, or make full screen (Black Box).  If you decide you do not need this book, you can go back to your Result List or start a New Search in the upper left corner of the page (Red Box).

 

 

If you want to E-mail pages of the book, you will use the icon on the top of the screen (Figure A, Blue Box).  To E-mail pages to your self, click on the envelope / E-mail icon (Red Arrow).  The E-mail instructions will open at the top of the screen (the book is still there at the bottom of the screen for easy reference, Black Arrow).  Choose your Citation Format and fill out your email address, subject and comment (Green Box).  On the left side of the screen, you indicate the number of pages you wish to email (Purple Box).  How many pages can you email?  That information is provided on the left.  For our example, we can print 60 pages (Red Box).  Each book has a different limit depending on the publisher.  Please be aware that the Page Limit is cumulative for Save, E-mail, and Print.  For our example, if you E-mail 20 pages to yourself, you only have 40 left to either E-mail, Print, or Save.

If you want to PRINT pages of a book, you will use the icons on the top of the screen (Blue Box).  To Print, click on the Printer/Print Page icon (Blue Arrow).  The print instructions will open at the top of the screen (the book is still there at the bottom of the screen for easy reference, Black Arrow).  On the left side of the screen, you indicate the number of pages you wish to print (Green Box).  How many pages can you print? That information is provided on the left side of the screen.  For our example, we can print 60 pages (Red Box).  Each book has a different limit depending on the publisher.   Please be aware that the Page Limit is cumulative for Save, E-mail, and Print.  For our example, if you E-mail 20 pages to yourself, you only have 40 left to either E-mail, Print, or Save.
 

If you want to SAVE pages of a book, you will use the icons on the top of the screen (Blue Box).  To Save, click on the Disc/SAVE icon (Blue Arrow).  The save instructions will open at the top of the screen (the book is still there at the bottom of the screen for easy reference, Black Arrow).  On the left side of the screen, you indicate the number of pages you wish to print (Green Box).  How many pages can you save? That information is provided on the left side of the screen.  For our example, we can print 60 pages (Red Box).  Each book has a different limit depending on the publisher.   Please be aware that the Page Limit is cumulative for Save, E-mail, and Print.  For our example, if you E-mail 20 pages to yourself, you only have 40 left to either E-mail, Print, or Save.
 

Below are some Hints and Tips to effectively use the eBooks:

  • Usually the best results are with a broad subject / search term.  Since you are searching books, general is better than specific.
  • You may view or read as many books as you need.  The limits are for Print, Save, and/or Email.
  • The page limits are for Print, Save, Email combined.  So if you have a 60 page limit, you can only print and/or save and/or email 60 copies total.
  • Each book has a different page limit, so plan accordingly.
  • If you plan on using the book for a resource, one of the pages you should print/save/email should be the page that has all the copyright information on it.  This will make it easier to cite the work.

If you have any questions or problems with eBooks, please feel free to contact Cassie Dixon for assistance.

The minimum Browser and Operating System requirements for reading EBSCO eBooks online are as follows:

  • Internet Explorer                11.0 or later

  • FirerFox                               Latest version plus one previous version

  • Safari                                   11.0 or later

  • Google Chrome                  Latest version plus one previous version

  • iOS                                       11.0 or later

  • Other                                   JavaScript, Cookies Enabled, DOM Storage       

 If you have any additional technical questions, pleaser refer to EBSCO eBook  User Guide for technical issues.                  

For Mobil and eReader devices, the following are supported:      

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with for the following eBook Readers:
  • Apple (iOS) Devices such as iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch
  • Android Devices such as smartphones and tablets
  • Sony eReader Touch Edition
  • Barnes & Noble Nook
  • All eBook Readers supporting the Adobe eBook DRM

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with the following mobile apps:

  • EBSCO eBooks native application for iOS and Android.
  • Bluefire Reader apps for iOS and Android devices
  • Txtr app for iPhone and Android devices
  • All apps supporting the Adobe eBook DRM

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with all devices and apps supporting Adobe eBook DRM, a standard used by most popular eBook providers, including Google Play.

Note: Currently, we do not support mobile devices that use the Windows operating system.                                    

Below, please see a 11 minute tutorial video on how to access, find, and use eBooks within our eBook collection:

 

This video was created by a previous Librarian.  If you need assistance, please email, call or stop by the Library for assistance.

 

QUESTIONS

If you have any questions regarding eBooks, please feel free to contact Cassie Dixon. You may either stop by the Medical Library, call, or send an email.