Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy Program - Evidence-Based Practice Guide: References

REFERENCES

Reference List

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. (n.d.a).  Clinical guidelines and recommendations.  Retrieved from http://www. ahrq.gov/professionals/clinicians-providers/guidelines-recommendations/index.html

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. (n.d .b).  National guidelines clearinghouse.  Retrieved from https://www.guide line.gov/

Alliant Libraries. (n.d.).  What is a Boolean operator?  [PDF file].  Retrieved from https://library.alliant.edu/screens/boolean. pdf

American Library Association. (2016).  Introduction to health literacy.  Retrieved from http://www.ala.org/acrl/issues/infolit/ intro

American Occupational Therapy Association. (2013).  OT search login.  Retrieved from http://www1.aota.org/otsearch/index. asp

American Occupational Therapy Association. (2016).  Evidence-based practice and research.  Retrieved from http://www. aota.org/Practice/Researchers.aspx

American University of Beirut Saab Memorial Medical University Library. (n.d.).  Evidence-based medicine > EBM principles.  Retrieved from http://smlsrv.aub.edu.lb/Tutorial_New.aspx?file= Tutorials/principles.html

BCPhysio. (2012, April 7).  Understanding 'levels of evidence' - What are levels of evidence? [Video file].  Retrieved from www.youtube.com/watch?v=5H8w68sr0u8 

Boston University Medical Center Alumni Medical Library. (n.d.).  Evidence-based practice glossary.  Retrieved from https://medlib.bu.edu/busm/content.php?faq=ebmglossary

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine. (2014).  Asking focused questions.  Retrieved from http://www.cebm.net/asking-focused-questions/

Centre For Evidence-Based Medicine. (2016a).  Glossary.  Retrieved from http://www.cebm.net/glossary/

Centre For Evidence-Based Medicine. (2016b).  EBM tools.  Retrieved from http://www.cebm.net/ category/ ebm-resources/tools/

Cochrane Library. (2016).  Search.  Retrieved from http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/cochranelibrary/search

Cochrane Collaboration. (2016).  The evidence.  Retrieved from http://www.cochrane.org/evidence

Colorado State University Libraries. (n.d.a).  Searching effectively using and, or, not.  Retrieved from http://lib/colostate.edu/ tutorials/boolean.html

Colorado State University Libraries. (n.d.b).  Advanced boolean searching [Video file].   Retrieved from http://lib.colostate. edu/tutorials/advboolean.html

Duke University. (2014, September 5).  Asking a well built clinical question.  Retrieved from http://guides.mclibrary.duke. edu/ content.php? pid=431451 &sid= 3529524

Duke University Medical Center Library. (2016a).  What is evidence-based practice. (EBP)? [Video file]  Retrieved from http://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/c.php?g=158201&p=1036021

Duke University Medical Center Library. (2016b).  Welcome to the Introduction to evidence-based practice tutorial.  Retrieved from http://guides.mclibrary.duke.edu/c.php?g=158201&p=1036002

EBSCOhost. (n.d.b).  EBSCOhost research databases.  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php

EBSCOhost. (n.d.c).  Introduction to EBSCOhost. Interface overview [Video file].  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco. com/training/flash_videos/intro_to_ehost/intro_to_ehost.html

EBSCOhost. (n.d.d) Basic search. Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=67

EBSCOhost. (n.d.e) Advanced search – Guided style.  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2

EBSCOhost. (n.d.f).  Limiters.  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=48

EBSCOhost. (n.d.g). CINAHL/MeSH headings.  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=5042

EBSCOhost. (n.d.h).  Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings. EBSCO health tutorial [Video file].  Retrieved from  http://support. epnet.com/training/flash_videos/cinahl_mesh/cinahl_mesh.html

EBSCOhost. (n.d.i). Result list.  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=20

EBSCOhost. (n.d.j). Using the result list. EBSCOhost tutorial [Video file].  Retrieved from http://support.ebsco.com/training/ flash_videos/result_list/result_list.html

EBSCOhost. (n.d.k). Improving search results.  Retrieved from  http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=45

EBSCO Support. (2015a, November 18).  CINAHL databases – Basic searching tutorial [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Di-KmUhLRJw

EBSCO Support. (2015b, November 24). CINAHL Databases - Advanced searching tutorial [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrG7MBHbyZc

Elsevier, Inc. (2016).  ClinicalKey.  Retrieved from https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/

Google. (n.d.). Google Scholar: About. Retrieved from https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/about.html

Howick, J., Chalmers, I., Glaszious, P., Greenhalgh, T., Heneghan, C., Liberati, A. … Hodgkinson, M. (2011). The Oxford 2011 levels of evidence. Retrieved from http://www.cebm.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/CEBM-Levels-of-Evidence-2.1.pdf

KT Clearinghouse. (2014).  Glossary of EBM Terms.  Retrieved from http://ktclearinghouse.ca/ cebm/glossary/

McMaster University Health Sciences Library. (2014a, October 16). OVID Medline - Part 1 - Starting Your Search [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qm2tuuxqftg

McMaster University Health Sciences Library. (2014b, October 16). OVID Medline - Part 2 - Refining Your Search [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtO-KdQRtUg

Occupational Therapy Critically Appraised Topics. (2003).  Introduction.  Retrieved from http://www.otcats.com/intro.html

Occupational Therapy Evidence-Based Practice in Western New York. (n.d.). Step 1:  Develop a question. Retrieved from http://otevidencebased practice vna. weebly.com/step-1-develop-the-question.html

OCEBM Levels of Evidence Working Group. (n.d.). The oxford 2011 levels of evidence: Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine  [PDF document]. Retrieved from http://www.cebm.net/index.aspx?o=5653

OT Seeker. (n.d.a). The process of implementing evidence in practice.  Retrieved from http://www.otseeker.com/ Resources/ImplementingEvidence/TheProcess.aspx

OT Seeker. (n.d.b).  Welcome to OT seekers.  Retrieved from http://www.otseeker.com/default.aspx

Physiotherapy Evidence Database. (2016, July 4). Welcome to PEDro.  Retrieved from http://www. pedro.org.au/

Preventing Chronic Disease - Public Health Research, Practice, and Policy (2016, August 8).  About the journal.  Retrieved from https://www.cdc.gov/ pcd/about_the_journal/index.htm

Rehabilitation Measures Database. (2010).  About us. Retrieved from http://www.rehabmeasures.org/ default.aspx

Sarwan Singh Randhawa, S.S., & Randhawa, S.K. (n.d.). Electronic databases.  Retrieved from http://electronicdatabases. com/index.html

Stewart Library. (2014, January 22). Boolean operators - And, or, & not [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www. youtube. com/watch?v=mRSjFaMVSe8&feature=youtu.be

University of California San Francisco School of Medicine. (n.d.).  Case 3 exercise: Construction a well-built clinical question.  Retrieved from http://missinglink.ucsf.edu/lm/EBM_litsearch/EBM_Tutorial/ Case3_Exer_PICO_resized.htm

umnLibraries. (2014a, October 15).  Literature searching Ovid Medline: Using subject headings [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzUzte0cgIs&index=1&list=PLsqxtHlAYQnaFn_5W0mAcM5gN0HgAYvUZ

umnLibraries. (2014b, October 15).  Literature searching in Ovid Medline:  Using keywords [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuEvk9-HPo0&index=2&list=PLsqxtHlAYQnaFn_5W0mAcM5gN0HgAYvUZ

umnLibraries. (2014c, October 15).  Literature searching in Ovid Medline:  Using limits and refining a search [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?vv=IZR4GS_5Imc&index=3&list=PLsqxtHlAYQnaFn_5W0mAcM5N0HgAYv UZ

umnLibraries. (2014d, October 15).  Literature Searching in Ovid Medline: Finding Full Text [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTYY8XUz21I&index=5&list=PLsqxtHlAYQnaFn_5W0mAcM5gN0HgAYvUZ

University of Illinois Biology Library. (n.d.) Tips for searching article databases.  Retrieved from http://www.library. illinois.edu/bix/pdf/genguide/searchtips.pdf

University of Illinois Board of Trustees. (2016a). Welcome to MOHO web.  Retrieved from http://www.cade. uic.edu/moho/default.aspx

University of Illinois Board of Trustees. (2016b).  Search scholarship.  Retrieved from http://www.cade.uic.edu/ moho/resources/scholarship.aspx

University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library. (n.d.).  Finding research evidence:  Search resources [PDF file].  Retrieved from http://www.d.umn.edu/~kheltzer/sw5095sp08/handouts/student_handout_4.pdf

University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library (2016a). Boolean operators:  A cheat sheet.  Retrieved from https://hsl.lib. umn.edu/biomed/help/boolean-operators

University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library  (2016b).  Using CINAHL efficiently:  The basics [Video file].  Retrieved from https://umconnect.umn.edu/p44695392/

University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library. (2016c).  Ovid Medline.  Retrieved from https://hsl.lib.umn. edu/biomed/  help/ovid-medline

University of Minnesota Health Sciences Library. (2016d).  Google Scholar.  Retrieved from https://hsl.lib.umn.edu/biomed/ help/google-scholar

Upstate Medical University.  (2010, May 21).  Chapter 4 – Using PICO [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=Dy_AXkKPYlg

UpToDate Inc. (2016).  New search.  Retrieved from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/search

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. (2016, August 4).  Search HealthPeople2020 evidence-based resources.  Retrieved from https://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/tools-resources/Evidence-Based-Resources

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (n.d). PubMed help.  Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK3827/ #pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

US. National Library of Medicine. (2010, March 8).  PubMed online training.  Retrieved from https://learn.nlm.nih.gov/rest/ training-packets/T0042010P.html

US. National Library of Medicine. (2013a, February 14).  Use MeSH to build a better PubMed query [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyF8uQY9wys

US. National Library of Medicine. (2013b, November 15).  Branching out the MeSH vocabulary [Video file].  Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/video/index.html

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2013c, November 9). Fact sheet, medical subject headings. Retrieved from http://www. nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/mesh.html

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2014, August 6).  Introduction:  What is MeSH?  Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih. gov/ bsd/disted/meshtutorial/introduction/

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2015a, June 10).  MeSH database.  Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/ disted/pubmed tutorial/020_490.html

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2015b, May 4).  MeSH on demand [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/ bsd/disted/pubmed tutorial/020_490.htm

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2015c, September 8a).  MeSH browser. Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/ MBrowser.html

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2016a, May 11).  MeSH tree structures.  Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/ disted/meshtutorial/meshtreestructures/

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2016b, April 12).  MeSH on demand.  Retrieved from  https://www.nlm.nih.gov/ mesh/MeSHonDemand.html

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2016c, May 11).  The MeSH Browser.  Retrieved from https://www.nlm.nih.gov/ bsd/disted/meshtutorial/themeshdatabase/

U.S. National Library of Medicine. (2016d, May 11).  Searching PubMed using MeSH search tags.  Retrieved from https:// www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/meshtutorial/searchingpubmedusingmeshtags/