Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a lot of resources and links throughout this guide to assist with finding information. It can be hard to remember where you saw a link that you want to revisit. So to make your research easier, here are some links and videos in location with descriptions to help you.
NC AHEC Digital Library
A Link to the NC AHEC platform. Through this link, you will have access to CINHAL Complete, OT Seeker, StatRef!, eBooks, journals and many other resources.
A link to the Government database PubMed. This database contains more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This includes both veterinarian and human medicine. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
National Institute of Nursing Research
The Institute's research focus encompasses health promotion and disease prevention, quality of life, health disparities, and end-of-life. NINR seeks to extend nursing science by integrating the biological and behavioral sciences, employing new technologies to research questions, improving research methods, and developing the scientists of the future.
National Center for Health Statistics
As the nation's principal health statistics agency, this site complies statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of all people. It is an unique public resource for health information statistical information.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics
Quick Link to the North Carolina State Center for health Statistics website for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
The home of the U.S. Government's open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research. The Data.gov catalog brings together datasets from hundreds of agency sources across the federal government and from 50 non-federal sources.
U.S. government website for health data. This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help people make healthful eating choices. Information includes dietary supplements, nutritional needs of various age groups, nutritional and health issues and USDA research, education, and economic resources.
Centers for Disease Control FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
Link to YouTube video on how to use PubMed, created for Cabarrus College students, but useful for Atrium Employees also.
NC AHEC Tutorial
Link to Medical Library's tutorial on how to use NC AHEC. Created for Cabarrus College students, but useful for Atrium Employees also.
Link to Medical Library's YouTube video on how to use CINAHL Complete; created for Cabarrus College students, but useful for Atrium Employees also.
Link to Medical Library's eBook Tutorial video on YouTube; created for Cabarrus College students, but useful for Atrium Employees also.
Database vs. Google
Link to Cabarrus College YouTube video that compares researching in Library Databases and Google - which is faster?
Evidence Based Nursing Introduction
Guide from University of Minnesota Health Science Libraries on Evidence Based Practice Interprofessional Tutorial.
How to write a PICO/PIO question
YouTube video that presents An easy, broken down video explaining each step of the PIO/PICO process and why it's used, published May 22, 2016.
CEBM: Evidence-Based Glossary
This site, provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM), includes a comprehensive reference list of key evidence-based words/terminology.
Link to Tutorial from Duke University for Evidence Based Practice (EBP).
Understanding Levels of Evidence
YouTube video showing the levels of evidence developed by Physiotherapy Association of British Columbia.
Cohort & Case Control Studies
Link to YouTube video explaining the what is Cohort Studies and What is Case Control Studies and the difference between the two.
Randomized Control Trials
Link to YouTube video explaining Randomized Control Trials and how they deal with confounding variables.
Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)
A link to the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). This resource provides writing and citing tips. Linked with permission
Tips for Writing a College Research Paper
YouTube video giving tips on how to write an effective college research paper.
How to Create an Outline
YouTube video on why and how to create an outline.
How to Paraphrase
Link to YouTube video on how to paraphrase information from a source.
APA Style FAQ
Link to APA style website section "Frequently Asked Questions"
APA citation style
Link to YouTube Video which demonstrates how to cite an article found in a database.
Link to Plagiarism.org, which assist in understanding and preventing Plagiarism.
Link to U.S. Copyright website "Frequently Asked Questions".
Link to YouTube video explaining Copyright basics.
Link to the U.S. Government website that has the entire copyright law. You can either download the entire statue or review a specific chapter.
These are a sampling of the links that are found throughout the Library's LibGuides. If there are links that are not here and you feel should be or if you have any problems or questions, please feel free to contact Cassie Dixon. You may call, email or drop by the Library and let us know.