Below are various links to resources that you may be using in this program.  Feel free to explore the various websites and familiarize yourself with them.  NC AHEC is only accessible with a user ID/Password.  You will receive those after the start of the semester. 

Cabarrus College offers access to more than 1500 Journals.  The majority of these journals may be accessed through CINAHL Complete or Academic Search Elite on the NC AHEC platform.  You will need a User ID/Password, which you may request from the Librarians ( Cassie Dixon or Cindy Kuntzelman).  While you have access to a large number of journals, some of these journals do not provide immediate access to the full article.  If you discover a journal article that you wish to read in full that you do not have immediate access to, please contact either Cassie Dixon or Cindy Kuntzelman and they will be able to retrieve the article for you.  PLEASE DO NOT PAY for this, the Librarians can retrieve it for you (it usually takes 2-3 business days to recieve the article). 

For a tutorial of CINAHL Complete, please click HERE. 

Another option to access journal articles is through PubMed.  PubMed is provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and provides access to the Library of Medicine database of citation and abstracts. For a brief tutorial of PubMed, please click HERE.     

What is an Electronic Database?

Computer-based collection or listing of information: n, including professional peer-reviewed journal articles, organized in an systematic way with searchable elements or fields, to make the search easy and fast (Randhawa & Randhawa, n.d.). 

How do We Search Them?

You may refer to the section on the Library LibGuide (click HERE) that show you:

•  "How To" organize your literature searches to access information from available electronic databases using:
  • Medical Subject Heading (MeSH) Terms and;
  • Boolean Operators        

.*** Please Note:  As you explore searching the electronic database tabs, please note that becoming proficient at searching requires  trial-and-error practice.  So, the tabs provide resources/tools, but you should anticipate the need to spend "time" exploring each database to learn their different formats, layout, tools, etc. so that you can develop efficient search strategies and habits ***

For assistance in searching online databases, please feel free to contact Librarian Cassie Dixon for assistance. 

PubMed

PubMed is a platform provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  It provides access to the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of citation and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical serves.  PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. A brief tutorial for PubMed can be found HERE.  If you have any questions, please contact Librarian Cassie Dixon for assistance.

NC AHEC

NC AHEC (North Carolina Area Health Education Centers) is a full-featured portal for North Carolina healthcare professionals providing access to journals, textbooks, databases, and many other electronic resources. A brief tutorial for NC AHEC and its databases can be found HERE. Access to this site requires an user ID/Password. If you need assistance with your password, please contact Cassie Dixon or Stephanie Reister.   

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL®Complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. CINAHL®Complete is an effective research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. CINAHL Complete is accessed through the NC AHEC platform and requires a user ID/password to be able to access it. A brief tutorial can be found HERE. If you need assistance with CINAHL Complete, you may contact Librarian Cassie Dixon.

eBooks

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences has access to over 2500 eBooks that you can use with your studies.  These books can be access through your NC AHEC account under Books. A brief tutorial on how to access these books can be found HERE.  NC AHEC does require an user ID/Password.  If you need assistance with your password or if you have any questions regarding eBooks, please contact Cassie Dixon.