Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cabarrus College: NC AHEC

Cabarrus College of Health Sciences Information

NC AHEC

NC AHEC (North Carolina Area Health Education Centers) is a full-featured portal for North Carolina healthcare professionals providing access to journals, textbooks, and many other electronic resources.  Below are some tutorials and helpful hints for navigating NC AHEC.  Please be aware that this is not a full tutorial and there are many resources available in NC AHEC that are not shown here.  Access to this site requires an user ID/Password.  If you need assistance with your password, please contact Cassie Dixon.   

Quick Link to AHEC

AHEC Tutorial

Below is a screen shot of the Login Screen of NC AHEC website.  The Red Arrows are pointing to the location of the login portion of the screen (in yellow highlight).  You should have received an email from the NC AHEC Digital Library with your login information.  If you need help with your login, you may stop by the Library, call, or send an email to  Cassie Dixon.

Below is a screen shot of the Home Page for the NC AHEC website.   On the top is a listing of options and  in the middle is your Frequently Used Resource.  Your screen will have the same format and the top listing will be the same.  The Frequently Used Resource will be different as it is based on the areas that you access frequently.  The arrows are highlighting the various options you have for searching.  The Red Arrow on top is pointing to Databases (this is where you will find  all the Databases, including CINAHL AND EBM Reviews); the Gold Arrow is pointing to EBM Reviews;  the Green Arrow is pointing to Journals; The Blue Arrow is pointing to Books.  In the Frequently Used Resources are the same arrows.  Please refer to CINAHL page for CINAHL Complete tutorial.

 

NC AHEC offers access to over 85 Databases. You can click on "Databases" in the Gold Circle (Figure A) or Databases underTop Resources Used (Green Arrow, Figure A) and you will go to the list of available databases (Figure B).  If there are Databases you use frequently use, it will be listed under "Top Resources Used" under "Databases" (Red Arrow, Figure A).  Some of the more commonly Databases used include CIHAHL Complete, Academic Search Elite and PsycARTICLES.

Figure A

Figure B

The Journal Section on NC AHEC Home Page will list all of the Journals available to users.  When you click on the title "Journals" on the Home page (see Figure A, Green Arrow or Green Circle), you will be directed to a list of the Journals available on NC AHEC.   The Journals are listed alphabetically by title and you can click on the ABC bar (Figure B) on top to jump to the letter in the alphabet.  You can then click on the Journal you wish to access.

Figure A

Figure B

 

The Books Section on NC AHEC Home Page will list all of the Books available to users.  When you click on "Books" on the Home Page (see Figure A, Blue Arrow), you will be directed to a list of the Books available on NC AHEC.  The Books are listed alphabetically by title and you can click on the ABC bar (Figure B) on top to jump to the letter in the alphabet.  You can then click on the Book you wish to access.

Figure A

Figure B

You can access the APA Style Guide to Electronic References in the NC AHEC  under Books (Figure A, Blue Arrow or Blue Circle).  Then you can click on APA Style Guide to Electronic References (Figure B, Green Arrow).  Remember, you need an NC AHEC Password/ID to be able to access this material.

Figure A

Figure B

Here are some additional Hints and Tips for using NC AHEC.

  • This site requires an ID/Password login.  If you are having difficulty logging into NC AHEC, please contact Cassie Dixon.
  • Sometimes less is more - if you are having trouble locating information, make your search terms broader or remove filters.
  • If you want to see if we have a certain journal, just go to the Journal section and search.  If you click on it, it will take you to that journal.
  • Use filters to narrow your results, such as Language (English), Age Groups, and/or Publication Date.
  • Do not search PubMed from NC AHEC - you will have difficulty emailing your clipboard to yourself from NC AHEC.  If you wish to search PubMed, access it directly at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/.
  • You have access to Journals, eBooks and Databases from NC AHEC.  These are all excellent resources for research.

Below is a quick tutorial video on how to use NC AHEC.  If you have any questions or need a NC AHEC password, please contact  Cassie Dixon

 

This video was created by a previous Librarian.  If you need assistance, please email, call or stop by the Library for assistance

Questions

If you have any questions regarding NC AHEC, please feel to contact either Cassie Dixon.  You may either stop by the Medical Library, call us, or send us an email.